" ITREALMS: ACSIS-SCASI elects Cisse Kane, eight others into exco for 2016-2020

Sunday, November 20, 2016

ACSIS-SCASI elects Cisse Kane, eight others into exco for 2016-2020

The African Civil Society on the Information Society (ACSIS) has elected a set of new nine executive officers for the next four years, the under leadership of Dr. Cisse Kane, reports ITRealms.

A press statement from ACSIS secretariat, the new executive committee was elected by accredited 175 members for 2016 through 2020 tenure.

According to the chairperson of the ACSIS 2016 Electoral Committee, and former president of ACSIS, Nana Delphine Mekounte, the electoral process which lasted for three days online enabled members across the African continent to exercise their civic rights.

She disclosed that the election saw the emergence of Dr. Cisse Kane (Senegal) as President, Mr. Remmy Nweke (Nigeria) as Vice President; Adjidjatou Barry Baud (Guinea) - Treasurer; Mr. Akinremi Peter Taiwo – Coordinator West Africa; Tijani Mahamat Adoum (Chad) - Coordinator Central Africa; Evelyn Namara (Uganda) - Coordinator Eastern Africa; Christminfa Gbenou Sagbohan (Benin) - Coordinator African Diaspora; Aicha Jeridi (Tunisia) - Coordinator Northern Africa; and Chenai Chair (Zimbabwe) - Coordinator Southern Africa.

Mekounte also commended the sincerity of purpose, patience and cooperation throughout the electoral process by members.

“Thank you for your choice of leaders for the next 4 years, this is a citizen's duty,” she asserted, advising any member who may be in doubt to revisit their online ballot link earlier shared to see for themselves how and records of the exercise.

As said by her, 175 voters were registered for the 2016 election, while the actual number of vote cast was 78, which amounts to 45 per cent participation. She noted that earlier, majority of voters had agreed that the single candidate positions should not be placed in competition, which the Electoral Committee endorsed.

Hence she explained that the Committee placed in contest the post of the Vice President and Treasurers, which had two and three candidates respectively.

She further said that for the post of Vice President, were Mr. Remmy Nweke and Mr. Michel Tchonang Linze, while the Treasurer position had Ms. Addjidja Tou Barry Baud, Mr. Ade Bada and Ms Sende Dora.

At the end, she said, Mr. Nweke was elected with 49 votes against 25 votes by Linze, just as Addjidja got 45 votes to emerge the Treasurer.

Recall that Africa Civil Society for the Information Society (ACSIS) was formed in June 2003, during the first phase of the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) in Geneva, to promote inclusive information society in Africa.

Nenye Dom/GEE
ITREALMS ... everything news digitally!

No comments:

Featured post @ITREALMS

NDSF@15: Ojo, Adebayo, Nnamani, Ekuwem, Nwannenna, Odusote join DigitalSENSE Hall of Fame - ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! The Executive Director, Media Rights Agenda, Mr. Edetaen Ojo alongside the chairman,...