" ITREALMS: Pantami to chair NITMA 2020 … as pros queue for prizes – ITREALMS

Tuesday, November 17, 2020

Pantami to chair NITMA 2020 … as pros queue for prizes – ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news!

All is now set for the 2020 National Information Technology Merit Awards (NITMA) to be chaired by the Minister of Communication and Digital Economy (MoCDE), Dr. Isa Ali Ibrahim Pantami, next week Thursday in Lagos, reports ITREALMS.

NITMA is organized by the Nigeria Computer Society (NCS), the umbrella association of IT professionals, interest groups and stakeholders in Nigeria’s tech sector, towards advancing and accelerating IT development in Nigeria.
National President of NCS, Prof. Adesina Sodiya disclosed this to ITREALMS in Lagos on Tuesday, noted that annually the society recognizes, celebrates and rewards outstanding excellence and exceptional contributions in the Information Technology field through the unique national platform NITMA provides. 

“Our focus as a society is progress for the sector in particular and for the nation as a whole. As the acknowledged professional authority facilitating the development of an inclusive, globally competitive, prosperous and knowledge-based digital economy in Nigeria, NCS is committed to recognizing and rewarding outstanding hard work and excellence in accelerating IT development. 

As said by Prof. Sodiya accompanied by NCS Deputy President, Dr. Mohammad Sirajo Aliyu and chairman of organizing committee for NITMA 2020, Mr. Femi Williams; in choosing the awards slated for Thursday, November 26, this year, the key areas and issues affecting growth in the sector and society are addressed. Stressing that for all awards, key criteria include IT specialisations, NCS standards and global best practices. 

Just as there will be professional fellowship, honourary fellowship, IT Gold Merit prize, as well as digital governor of the year awards among others. 

For instance, he explained that the professional fellowships will be conferred on members of NCS who are recognized as authorities in their field of computing and have distinguished themselves through significant contribution to the growth of Information Technology through their professional expertise and activities. 

Whereas, the Honourary Fellowship, Prof. Sodiya told ITREALMS, would be conferred on distinguished personalities for their dedication and exemplary service to IT growth and development in Nigeria. 

The honourary fellowship awardees, he said for instance would include Engineer Abdullahi Sule, the Executive Governor of Nasarawa State, Dr. Bello Mohammad Matawalle, the Executive Governor of Zamfara State, Dr. Adesola Kazeem Adeduntan, CEO First Bank of Nigeria Ltd and Subsidiaries, and Professor Ishaq Oloyede, Registrar Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB).

For the chairman of the organizing committee, Mr. William, plans have been advanced to comply with the COVID-19 protocols, hence, an estimated 200 participants would be accommodated at the venue while others would be joined online via various streaming options including Zoom, Facebook live to name a few.

Remmy Nweke/DoP

No comments:

Featured post @ITREALMS

Five tips for small business owners online - ITREALMS

Sponsored@ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! Entrepreneurs can benefit from new ideas on ways to address a particular i...