" ITREALMS: Romance scam: 19 in EFCC net, underwears, ATM cards recovered - ITREALMS

Saturday, February 02, 2019

Romance scam: 19 in EFCC net, underwears, ATM cards recovered - ITREALMS

The operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) Ibadan Zonal Office, have arrested 19 suspected internet-based romance scammers at Ologuneru Area of Ibadan and at Akobo, Ibadan, Oyo State, reports ITREALMS.

Some of the recovered items include SIM cards, one exotic car, laptops, telephones, female underwears and four bags of fetish objects (juju).

The suspects, four of whom were arrested early hours of Friday, February 1, 2019 at Akobo, Ibadan included Moshod Richard, Babatunde Afeez, Adeleye Damilola and Akorede Ahmed Olalekan.

Confirming this to ITREALMS, acting Head, Media and Publicity at EFCC, Tony Orilade, said the operation was led by the Ibadan Zonal Head, Friday Ebelo, whereas suspects were between the ages of 21 and 35 years.

Five of the suspects, EFCC said, allegedly claimed to be undergraduates while 10 others claimed to be self-employed in varied vocations.

“The Commission got wind of their activities following series of intelligence report, alleging that they engaged in various fraudulent activities ranging from obtaining money by false pretenses through sending of scam emails to unsuspecting victims mostly in the United States of America, while others were engaged in romance scam on several dating sites.

“At the point of arrest, EFCC operatives recovered four different models and brands of exotic cars, five laptops, 20 telephones (10 iPhones) and one small bag containing items suspected to be fetish objects (juju) from them.

“Several documents, including international passports, and ATM cards were recovered from them” the EFCC spokesman said, stressing that the suspects were Bamidele Ayodele Samson, Bamidele Philip, Tunji Oladapo Sowale, Bololaji Olalekan and Abdulrauf Abiodun.

Others, EFCC said were Olaleye Pelumi, Anuokuwapo Olanrewaju, Paul Damilola, Olateye David Tobi, Arewa Adekunle Ibrahim, Oyesanmi Ayomikun Oluwaseun, Olaleye Israel, Adediran Kemisola, Omobolade Alarape and Olowolusi Oluwatomisin.

Uboshe Uboshe/Editor

No comments:

Featured post @ITREALMS

NDSF@15: Ojo, Adebayo, Nnamani, Ekuwem, Nwannenna, Odusote join DigitalSENSE Hall of Fame - ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! The Executive Director, Media Rights Agenda, Mr. Edetaen Ojo alongside the chairman,...