" ITREALMS: Etisalat set to unveil prize winner in literature grand finale

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Etisalat set to unveil prize winner in literature grand finale

The third edition of the Etisalat Prize for Literature is now set to unveil winner in what has been described as a three-way literary battle on who emerges  Africa’s most prestigious author, reports ITRealms.

The shortlisted books, ITRealms gathered include The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself by South Africa’s Penny Busetto, Tram 83 by Democratic Republic of Congo’s Fiston Mwanza Mujila and What Will People Say? by another South African, Rehana Rossouw.

ITRealms reports that the winner of the Etisalat Prize for Literature 2015 will be unveiled at the award ceremony holding at the prestigious Intercontinental Hotel, Victoria Island on Saturday March 19, 2016.

This year’s Award Ceremony will embody the theme “Representing the Diversity of African Voices” by showcasing the richness of Africa and how our diversity converges into one unique voice of the continent. It promises to be an exciting event with performances ranging from poetry, monologues and musical performances by Darey and Asa.

Head, Events and Sponsorship, Etisalat Nigeria, Modupe Thani, said that already several activities have been lined up to bring the three shortlisted writers closer to the African public ahead of the award ceremony.

One of which is that on Tuesday, March 15, she said, the writers would be showcased at the 2016 edition of Time of the Writer in University of KwaZulu-Natal in Durban, South Africa where they will feature in a panel of literary giants as they take on conversations that matter on book and knowledge.

The literary event will also feature a presentation of shortlisted books to City of Durban Library by Etisalat Prize for Literature followed by a book reading at the the city's foremost book store with vintage collections, Ike’s Books. The shortlisted writers will also be at the Lagos book reading on Thursday, March 17, the final precursor to the award ceremony which will provide Nigerians with a peep into the minds of the three authors.

The winner of the 2015 Etisalat Prize for Literature will receive £15,000, an engraved Montblanc Meisterstück pen and a high end device, in addition to attending the Etisalat Fellowship at the University of East Anglia under the mentorship of Giles Foden. 

The Etisalat Prize for Literature, she further said, aims to promote the publishing industry at large and will therefore purchase 1000 copies of all shortlisted books which will be donated to various schools, book clubs and libraries across the African continent.

According to Thani, the Etisalat Prize for Literature is not only about debut fiction novels, but also recognizes unpublished short story writers in the Flash Fiction category, and this year’s winner will go home with a cash prize of £1,000 cash, a high end device, and will have his or her published e-book promoted online and via Short Messaging Service (SMS).

 Uj. N. Dominic/GEE
ITREALMS ... everything news digitally!

No comments:

Featured post @ITREALMS

Night travel: Over 80 passengers robbed, vehicle set ablaze+video – ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! Over 80 passengers on night travel to the Eastern part of Nigeria with Ifesinachi Mo...