Tuesday, June 09, 2015

Dogara floors Gbajabiamila, clinches House speakership

Hon. Dogara Yakubu representing Bogoro/Dass/Tafawa-Balewa Federal Constituency of Bauchi State, Tuesday, clinched the Nigeria’s House of Representatives’ speakership as he beat his contender, Femi Gbajabiamila, reports ITRealms.

Gbajabiamila, representing Surulere 1 Federal Constituency of Lagos State and Minority Leader in the 7th House, was believed to be the anointed candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, while Hon. Yakubu, banked on a handful of supporters from his party, the APC, as well as the opposition, People’s Democratic Party, PDP, which has directed all its members to vote for him,

Hon. Yakubu, ITRealms reports, scored 182 votes to floor his opponent who garnered 174 votes even as two votes were voided.

The motion for Yakubu’s nomination was moved by Hon. Abdulmumin Jibrin and seconded by Hon. Chike John Okafor while the motion for Gbajabiamila’s was moved by Hon. Muhammad Sani Abdu and seconded by Hon. Philip Shuaibu

ITRealms recalled that the All Progressives Congress, APC, had on Saturday, in Abuja elected Femi Gbajabiamila to run for the office of Speaker of the House, at a primary election organized by the leadership of the party.

Cyriacus Nnaji/ GEE

ITREALMS ... everything news digitally!

Pix: new House Speaker, Hon. Dogara

No comments: