" ITREALMS: M-Net dangles $200,000 on Big Brother Africa-6

Monday, January 24, 2011

M-Net dangles $200,000 on Big Brother Africa-6

Digital Satellite Television (DStv) operator, M-Net Africa, has called for entries for the 6th edition of its reality show, the Big Brother Africa (BBA6) with from the 14 participating countries on the continent, reports CHARLES OKOH.

The show which attracts a prize money of $200 000 for the winner, would have housemates from Angola, Botswana, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe who meet the entry criteria.

The Managing Director, M-Net Africa Mrs. Biola Alabi, said M-Net is looking forward to the new season of the show, adding that last year’s All Star version was a great success.

She said M-Net is extremely pleased with the show’s performance last year as some of the continent’s favourite BBA housemates from previous years were reunited.

“It was compelling, entertaining and exciting television. This year it’s once again time for fresh faces and new perspectives, so we encourage entries from across the 14 countries,” she said.

“As with previous years, we won’t be divulging too many details about the new season as yet. Our audiences respond favourably to surprises, they look forward to see what will happen next, what the new twists will be and we aim to please. This is a game like no other and with the format remaining highly popular with our audiences; our focus now is on creating something new and innovative while maintaining those aspects, like the strategic nomination sessions and dramatic eviction nights that are the foundation of this show,” she said.

On his part, Managing Director, Endemol, producers of the show, Mr. Sivan Pillay, said he is enthusiastic about the new season.

He said Big Brother is a television format that continues to enjoy great success around the world, including countries like Spain and Germany where more than 10 editions of the show have been created.

“Africa is no exception to this and the format continues to be popular,” he said.

Applicants must be 21 years old or older, fluent in English, have a valid passport and citizen of any one of the 14 participating countries.

Nigeria’s Kevin Chuwang Pam and Uti Nwachukwu won the 2009 and 2010 editions respectively. Previous winners were, Zambia’s Cherise Makubale, Tanzania’s Richard Bezuidenhout, and Angola’s Ricco Venancio.

ITREALMS Online ... delivering news for ICT4D

No comments:

Featured post @ITREALMS

NDSF@15: Ojo, Adebayo, Nnamani, Ekuwem, Nwannenna, Odusote join DigitalSENSE Hall of Fame - ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! The Executive Director, Media Rights Agenda, Mr. Edetaen Ojo alongside the chairman,...