" ITREALMS: 3 Nigerian universities without websites, another 3 without Vice Chancellors - ITREALMS


Breast cancer: Hello men! - ITREALMS

TelecomsClinic@ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! As part of the 2023 Breast Cancer Awareness campaign, REMMY NWEKE hig...

Monday, January 27, 2020

3 Nigerian universities without websites, another 3 without Vice Chancellors - ITREALMS

Out of the total 174 of Nigerian Universities, three do not have formal and official websites, according to the database of the National Universities Commission (NUC), reports ITREALMS.

This is coming as another set of universities do not have vice chancellors, ITREALMS can authoritatively report.

Although the available database on NUC site indicated a total of 174 universities have been established in the country, the Executive Secretary of NUC, Professor Abubakar Adamu Rasheed, was quoted in far away New York at a high-level dialogue to commemorate 2020 International Day of Education at the United Nations Headquarters.

Although Prof. Rasheed revealed that out of the total 79 were private universities, the database of the commission differed with him in the states and federal universities.

According to NUC website the Federal Universities stood at 43, and 52 states' universities were established so far.

Investigations by ITREALMS showed that there were some three private universities without formal websites of the institution listed.

Also, there were another three universities without enlisted names of their vice chancellors, which depict they are currently running without a vice chancellors, given the number of years since when they were founded.

In addition, some two universities were found to be without vice chancellors and functional websites, according to NUC.

As gathered by ITREALMS from NUC website, Coal City University Enugu State with database record number 67, does not have a formal website alongside, the Atiba University Oyo with record number 73 and Westland University Iwo-Osun State with 79 on the database in that order.

Whereas the Coal City University was reportedly established in 2016, ITREALMS gathered that Atiba University Oyo and Westland University Iwo, were founded in 2017 and 2019 respectively.

Equally, ITREALMS investigations showed that four universities, namely the Admirality University in Ibusa, Delta State, Dominion University Ibadan, Oyo State, Atiba University Oyo and Westland University Iwo, Osun State; do not respectively have vice chancellors as at the time of filing this special report, among the lot.

Noteworthy is that Admiralty University Ibusa was founded in 2017, while Dominion University Ibadan was also established in 2019.

Industry watchers of the nation's education sector posited that things like the official website of the proposed institutions should form part of the prerequisite for accreditation, as such, should be uploaded on the NUC database as soon as the approvals were made, including their acting vice chancellors.

However, out of the total figure of 174 universities in the country, the private universities is leading by categorisation with 79 established higher institutions, followed by the States universities with 52 and Federal Universities at 43, as at the time of this report.

Remmy Nweke/DoP

*JOIN our alert's group | Share stories with us | Advert placement: WhatsApp | SMS: +2348033592762 *Twitter: @ITREALMS *Email: itrealms.dsa@gmail.com*

No comments: