Monday, June 29, 2015

Two septuagenarians bag Life Time Achievement Awards

Two septuagenarians, Dr. Olor’ogun Sonny Kuku and Pharm. (Sir) Ifeanyi Atueyi, who have served the medical profession and nation in various capacities were last Friday in Lagos conferred with the highest honours for unparalleled excellence in the Life Time Achievement Awards category, ITRealms reports.

The award which has 30 categories under the aegis of Nigerian Healthcare Excellent Award and organized by Global Health Project Resources in partnership with Anadach Group, was designed to reward Excellence in various field of Medicine and healthcare.

ITRealms reports that Sir Ifeanyi who is the publisher of Pharmanews, Nigeria’s foremost health journal, while receiving the award,advised young professionals to strive for excellence in their various fields of endeavour. The same was reiterated by Dr. Olor’ogun Sonny Kuku, who have chaired several boards and organizations, when he said that excellence is what brought him this far.

According to the National President, Association of General and Private Medical Practitioners of Nigeria (AGPMPN) and the Chairman of the occasion, in his keynote address, stated that there are committees whose duty it is to ensure that those that are nominated are the best in their industries. He said “there are several rigorous processes and protocols involved when you are nominated, and more screening even when you qualify for the award, therefore, the awardees today are a testimony of the credibility of NHEA.

He stated that only those who have made healthcare reachable in Nigeria inspite of the obvious challenges were nominated for the award, adding that the award is for both doctors, nurses, pharmacists, organizations and dealers in healthcare equipment who have made an uncommon difference in the healthcare. Beyond that, he stated that nothing stops somebody or an organization from getting the award more than once as long as they meet the criteria.

Other awardees, ITRealms reports, include Ogun State as the Primary Healthcare Provider of the year for its Aro Primary Mental Healthcare Programme; Pathcare Laboratories for Services Worthy of Emulation, while Public Healthcare Services Provider of the Year Award went to the NAF-445, NigerianAirforce Laboratory, Ikeja.  Chioma Obinna (Vanguard) won the Healthcare Media Excellence Award- Print, while Habibat Basanya (TVC) won in the Electronic category.

It was however a moment of sober reflection as First Consultant, the hospital where Ebola virus was first diagnosed in Nigeria was called for Healthcare Heroes Award. The hospital and survivors of the ebola scourge received standing ovation severally for their sacrifices and doggedness during the battle against ebola virus in Nigeria,ITRealms learnt.

Cyriacus Nnaji/GEE

ITREALMS ... everything news digitally!

No comments: