" ITREALMS: Bayelsa hosts National Council on CommTech2014

ob Ad


Embracing breast cancer care with technology - ITREALMS

TelecomsClinic@ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! Preamble: A few days ago, Mr Aro in remembrance of his late wife, Nne...

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Bayelsa hosts National Council on CommTech2014

The Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) of government from the 36 states of the federation may have shot their offices for the third edition of the National Council on Communication Technology (NCCT) being hosted by the government of Bayelsa State capital, Yenagoa, reports ITRealms.

This annual, ITRealms reports, also include all Commissioners in charge of ICT and Special Advisers on ICT across the federation and Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The Council, ITRealms gathered is expected to deliberate, appraise and agree on the way forward toward leveraging ICT for the transformation of Nigeria into a digital economy.

NCCT was constituted by the Federal Ministry of Communication Technology since 2012 and would as from today, 10th September 2014 hold the 3rd Regular Meeting at the Banquet Hall, Government House, Yenagoa, Bayelsa State.

ITRealms gathered that the theme for the 3rd Regular Meeting of the Council is “Mainstreaming ICT in National Development: Moving from Talk to Action.”

Presided over by the Minister of Communication Technology, Dr. Omobola Johnson, the Council is expected to, among other things review various actions taken by members towards implementing decisions taken at the 2nd (NCCT) held in Ondo State in August 2013.

ITRealms recalled that the Council was constituted and held its inaugural meeting in March 2012 during which it extensively discussed the Draft National ICT policy document. The 2nd Meeting was held in Akure in August last year and had Commissioners and officials of ICT, Science and Technology and other related areas from 22 States of the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) in attendance.

Representatives from other Federal Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) including the Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation (OHCSF) attended the meeting. 

Others include the Ministries of Health, Foreign Affairs, Interior, Power, Agriculture, Environment, Police Affairs, National Planning Commission, Lands & Housing, Trade & Investment and National Assembly Committee Members. The Presidents of Nigeria Computer Society (NCS), Association of Licenced Telecomm Operators of Nigeria (ALTON), Computer Registration Council of Nigeria and Executives and Captains in the ICT private sector/industry were also in attendance.   

Remmy Nweke: 

ITREALMS ... delivering news for ICT4D

Pix: Mrs. Johnson, CommTech Minister.

No comments: