" ITREALMS: Johnson elected chairperson of UNCSTD

ob Ad

Saturday, June 14, 2014

Johnson elected chairperson of UNCSTD


The Minister of Communication Technology and Supervising Minister of the Ministry of Science and Technology, Dr (Mrs.) Omobola Johnson has been elected as the Chairperson of the United Nations’ Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) reports ITRealms.

The election of Dr Johnson, according to the special assistant on media to the minister, Mrs Efem Nkanga, took place at the end of the 17th Session of the Commission that was held from May 12-16, 2014 in Geneva, Switzerland.

ITRealms also gathered that the position of Chairperson is for a period of one year and presents an opportunity for Nigeria to play a role in discussions that will shape the role of science and technology in development.

These discussions,  ITRealms reports also included deliberations on the manner in which the internet could be governed globally.

The CSTD is a subsidiary body of the United Nations’ Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), and plays an advisory role to the UN General Assembly and ECOSOC on a range of relevant issues.

These issues pertain to the contributions of science and technology to development, particularly in developing countries. Furthermore, since 2006, CSTD has also advised ECOSOC on the implementation of the outcomes of the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS). The CSTD is composed of forty-three Members States that are elected by ECOSOC for a term of four years, and who meet annually for a period of one week. Nigeria is one of the eleven African States that are Members of the Commission, and its tenure on the Commission ends in 2016.
ITREALMS Online ... delivering news for ICT4D

No comments: