" ITREALMS: ATCON elections: Lanre Ajayi returns as president, NEC members too

Tuesday, May 13, 2014

ATCON elections: Lanre Ajayi returns as president, NEC members too

The Association of Telecommunications Companies of Nigeria (ATCON) ended its Annual General Meeting (AGM) cum its general election in Lagos, Tuesday, with the return of the National Executive Council (NEC) led by Engr. Lanre Ajayi, the chief executive officer of PiNet Informatics Limited, reports ITRealms.

ATCON which prides itself as the umbrella organ for practicing companies in the Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) will be 20 years by December this year since its establishment.

Speaking on behalf of his team on the outcome of the exercise, the returned National President of ATCON, Mr. Ajayi told ITRealms that aside himself, Mr. Olusola Teniola was returned as the first Vice President, Engr. Tony Nwosu as second Vice President, Mr. David Roberts as national secretary, Mrs. Aderonke Adeyegbe also returned as treasurer and Mr. Adegboyega Ojuri, was elected Coordinator, Internet Service Providers (ISPs).

Ajayi in his AGM report pointed out some of the achievements of ATCON within the year under review, including the migration of ATCON NewsThisWeek administration to the secretariat, submission of position paper to the Senate Committee on Communication on Quality of Service Issue; re-launch of the association’s website to facilitate online registration and even payment.

In addition, he said, ATCON endorsed some industry players whose activities aligned with its goals, even as it has continued to host the Telecoms Executives and Regulartor’s Forum since 2012.

Further, Ajayi emphasised that ATCON alongside partners hosted and international four-day workshop on Internet Protocol version Six (IPv6), mostly with African Network Information Center, Mauritius at Digital Bridge Institute Cappa-Oshodi in Lagos.

ATCON, he said, recognized the appointment of its four members into the National Broadband Council namely President, immediate past president, Engr. Titi Omo-Ettu, Mrs. Funke Opeke of Main One and president of Nigeria Internet Group (NIG) Mr. Adebayo Banjo, even as ATCON second vice president was nominated into the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) inter-agency committee of professionals to assess telecommunications-based innovations from the academia.

The organisation, he reported intervened in several industry subject matters including the resolution of member company’s complain on non-allocation of block of short codes by NCC as well as submission of input on a bill for an Act to facilitate the use o Information in Electronic Form for Conducting Transactions in Nigeria and for connected purposes 2013 to the Senate Committee on Communication.

ATCON, he said, made input on a bill for an Act to provide for the Interception, Development and Protection of Communications Networks and Facilities for Public Interest and other related matters 2013, just as it purchased an official car for the Executive Secretary.

These achieves in the year under review, he said, was capped with several industry awards.

The new officer will be in office for another two years.

ITREALMS Online ... delivering news for ICT4D
Photo: R-l: Mr. Adegboyega Ojuri, was elected Coordinator, Internet Service Providers (ISPs), National President, ATCON, first Vice President, Mr. Ajayi, Mr. Olusola Teniola, national secretary, Mr. David Roberts, immediate past president, ATCON, Mr. Titi Omo-Ettu and Executive Secrtary, ATCON, Ajibola Olude.

No comments:

Featured post @ITREALMS

Beclouding eWaste recycling in Nigeria - ITREALMS

Features, Telecoms Clinic@ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! This report showcases some of the key challenges faced by ...