Monday, June 29, 2009

ITAN nominates Seriki for WITSA committee

The Information Technology (Industry) Association of Nigeria (ITAN) has nominated the group chief executive, Omatek Plc, Mrs. Florence Seriki as its lead representative to the World Information Technology and Services Alliance (WITSA) committee on Global Trade.

ITRealms Online recalls that Mrs. Seriki was recently named ITAN Founding Partner for Asia.

ITAN President, Dr. Jimson Olufuye, in a letter to the Global Trade Committee (GTC) Chairman, Mr. Soo Pei Ling, said that he was pleased to nominate Mrs. Seriki, as
ITAN’s representative at the WITSA GT committee.

In a similar development ITAN has nominated its national treasurer and chairman of the Abuja chapter, Mr. Arinola Akinyemi as the deputy representative. Akinyemi is also chief executive officer of Omar Ventures Limited.

“As mentioned by the GTC Chairman, the main role of the GTC member is to assist the committee in identifying potential areas of increasing the Global ICT – Information and Communication Technology - Trade and in due course benefit all WITSA members,” part of the letter read, stressing that the committee, will also have a secretariat team to assist in the operation and implementation of the GTC targets and objectives.

Responding to the nomination, Mrs. Seriki expressed her sincere appreciation as ITAN’s representative at the WITSA Global Trade Committee. “Please accept my warm gratitude” she declared.

Already, at its recent board of directors meeting at the Hague, last month, Dr. Olufuye said that WITSA had concluded plans for its 2009 Global Public Policy Summit taking place in Bermuda, stressing that an update of its 2010 IT Olympiad to be hosted by The Netherlands in May 2010 was also reviewed.

Also nominated into ITAN Public Policy Committee are Ambassador Michael Toluhi , who is the chief executive officer of Abadata Nig Ltd and doubles as ITAN Founding Partner (Europe); chairman;  his counterparts in CiTAD, Sagita Systems, PiNet Informatics, Messrs YZ Yau, Matthias Ifesieh, and Lanre Ajayi as the chairman, secretary and advisor in that order to the forum, while former ITAN President, Mr. Chris Uwaje, is the assistant secretary to the forum.

Other members of the forum include Mr. Oludaisi Joseph, CEO Sephix Ltd, Mr. Oamen Okhilua, CEO Yobel Integrated Services; Mr. Sagir Mohammed, CEO InterSystems Ltd, Oluwole Owolabi, MD/CEO Accentech Media and Dr. Sam Braimoh of MicroTechnologies Inc.
Part of the responsibilities of the committee include, but not limited for the determination and recommendation of key public policy priorities to ITAN NEC for approval; on approval to articulate strategies for the implementation of such policy by relevant public institution.

In addition the reference evolves pursuing new bills for the promotion of ICT trade and development in Nigeria as well as liaison with the ITAN Public-Private Forum special committees for accelerated implementation of policies, while implement other responsibility that they may be assigned by the Council of ITAN.

ITREALMS Online ... delivering news for ICT4D

No comments: