" ITREALMS: Tinubu replaces all service chiefs with immediate effect - ITREALMS

Monday, June 19, 2023

Tinubu replaces all service chiefs with immediate effect - ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news!

Barely three weeks following his inauguration on May 29, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has sacked all service chiefs in Nigeria and replaced with immediate effect, reports ITREALMS.
Tinubu replaces service all chiefs with immediate effect - ITREALMS
A press statement made available to ITREALMS on Monday by the Director of Information at the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Willie Bassey, on behalf of his principal, Mr. George Akume, said that all service chiefs have been removed and new ones appointed.

“President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has approved the immediate retirement of all Service Chiefs and the Inspector-General of Police, Advisers, Comptroller-General of Customs from Service as well as their replacements with immediate effect,” the statement read.

Those affected in the unprecedented shakeup include Alkali Usman who was removed as the Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Lucky Irabor, sacked as the Chief of Defence Staff; Faruk Yahaya, retired as the Chief of Army Staff; Awwal Gambo, removed as the Chief of Naval Staff; and Isiaka Amao, retired as Chief of Air Staff.

The President subsequently appointed new service chiefs in the country and named a former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Nuhu Ribadu, as his new National Security Adviser (NSA). Ribadu replaces Babagana Monguno as the nation’s NSA.

Maj. Gen. C.G Musa is now the Chief of Defence Staff, Maj. T. A Lagbaja is now the Chief of Army Staff, Rear Admiral Emmanuel A Ogalla now the Chief of Naval Staff, AVM H.B Abubakar now the Chief of Air Staff, DIG Kayode Egbetokun now the Acting Inspector-General of Police and Maj. Gen. EPA Undiandeye is now the Chief of Defense Intelligence.

In addition, Tinubu appointed Mr. Adeniyi Adewale as the Acting Comptroller General of Customs, who takes over from Hameed Ali.

Further, he said that Mr President approved the following appointments:

1 Col. Adebisi Onasanya Brigade of Guards Commander
2 Lt. Col. Moshood Abiodun Yusuf 7 Guards Battalion, Asokoro, Abuja
3 Lt. Col. Auwalu Baba Inuwa 177, Guards Battalion, Keffi, Nasarawa State
4 Lt. Col. Mohammed J. Abdulkarim 102 Guards Battalion, Suleja, Niger
5 Lt. Col. Olumide A. Akingbesote 176 Guards Battalion, Gwagwalada, Abuja

Similarly, the President has approved the appointments of other Military Officers in the Presidential Villa as follows:
1 Maj. Isa Farouk Audu
(N/14695) Commanding Officer State House Artillery
2 Capt. Kazeem Olalekan Sunmonu (N/16183) Second-in-Command, State House Artillery
3 Maj. Kamaru Koyejo Hamzat (N/14656) Commanding Officer, State House Military Intelligence
4 Maj. TS Adeola (N/12860) Commanding Officer, State House Armament
5 Lt. A. Aminu (N/18578) Second-in-Command, State House Armament

President Tinubu went on to approve the appointments of two (2) additional Special Advisers, and two (2) Senior Assistants, namely Hadiza Bala Usman Special Adviser, Policy Coordination; Hannatu Musa Musawa Special Adviser, Culture and Entertainment Economy; Sen. Abdullahi Abubakar Gumel Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (Senate) and Hon. (Barr) Olarewaju Kunle Ibrahim Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (House of Representatives)"

SGF office noted that the appointed Service Chiefs, the Inspector-General of Police and the Comptroller General of Customs are to act in their positions, pending their confirmation in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

No comments:

Featured post @ITREALMS

NDSF@15: Ojo, Adebayo, Nnamani, Ekuwem, Nwannenna, Odusote join DigitalSENSE Hall of Fame - ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! The Executive Director, Media Rights Agenda, Mr. Edetaen Ojo alongside the chairman,...