" ITREALMS: INEC: No voting in 6 polling units in Anambra, 234 others nationwide - ITREALMS

Tuesday, February 14, 2023

INEC: No voting in 6 polling units in Anambra, 234 others nationwide - ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news!

A total of six polling units and 234 others nationwide would not be active during the 2023 general elections, reports 
Disclosing this, Monday, was the chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, during a meeting with political parties held at INEC conference room in Abuja.

According to him, there are 240 polling units without registered voters spread across 28 States and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

They range from one polling unit to 12 polling units in each State and the FCT, except Taraba and Imo States with 34 and 38 polling units respectively.

Those affected in Anambra State came largely from Idemili North and Nnewi North Local Government Areas (LGA) respectively and include Saint Peters N/P School, Uruowulu Obosi, Obi Umuayanwa Hall, Obi Odugwu Hall II, Ezena Progressive Hall, Obi Nnajiofor, and Obi Ezesioma I.

INEC chair also pointed out why election will not happen at those polling units is that no new registrants chose them and no voters indicated interest to transfer to them during the last Continuous Voter Registration (CVR), mainly for security reasons.

"This means that no elections will hold in these polling units," Yakubu declared.

The Commission, he said, is making available to Nigerians a comprehensive list of these polling units by name, code number and their locations by State, Local Government and Registration Area.

"With this development, the number of polling units where elections will hold nationwide on 25th February 2023 and 11th March 2023 is now 176,606" he said.

Nigerians, he also said, deserve the right to know the locations of these polling units, just as the soft copy of the list has been uploaded to INEC website and social media platforms for public information and guidance.

ITREALMS recalled that in 2021, with support of critical stakeholders, the Commission successfully expanded voter access to polling units 25 years after the last delimitation exercise in 1996.

Consequently, the number of polling units increased from 119,973 to the current figure of 176,846.

1 comment:

Ava Olivia said...

Fantastic post! regarding it, you are a pretty good blogger because of your incredible writing style. Please keep up the good work on your website. Get the best coursework assistance in the UK before Write my coursework. We are the top assignment writing professionals, and our service experts are really polite and diligent individuals. If you have any questions, kindly click this link to find out more.

Featured post @ITREALMS

Night travel: Over 80 passengers robbed, vehicle set ablaze+video – ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! Over 80 passengers on night travel to the Eastern part of Nigeria with Ifesinachi Mo...