" ITREALMS: PMB swears-in 6 national commissioners - ITREALMS

Wednesday, February 23, 2022

PMB swears-in 6 national commissioners - ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news!

The Nigerian President, General Mohammadu Buhari has sworn-in some seven national commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), reports 
Prof. Yakubu, INEC chairman
Disclosing this on Wednesday, INEC chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu said at the event held in the Commission’s Conference Room, Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja, that President had sworn-in six National Commissioners, even as a new Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) has also been sworn-in.

“Four of them are not new to the Commission. Mrs. May Agbamuche-Mbu, a lawyer, and Malam Mohammed Haruna, a journalist, have been re-appointed to serve for a second term. Mr. Sam Olumekun, a retired civil servant, has served for two terms as Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) in many States, including Lagos while Mr. Kenneth Nnamdi Ukeagu has been a career staff of the Commission, rising to the rank of Director,” he said.

The other two National Commissioners, he said, were Mrs. Rhoda Gumus, a Professor of Engineering, and Modibbo Abubakar Alkali, a retired Major General of the Nigerian Army.

According to him, they all bring cumulatively to the Commission, diverse experiences to strengthen the work of the Commission for the reform of the electoral process and the conduct of free, fair and credible elections.

“With your appointment, the Commission now has the full compliment of 12 National Commissioners,” INEC chairman said.

For the new REC, Mr. Olaniyi Olaleye Babalola Ijalaye, a legal practitioner, INEC chairman said fills the vacancy for Ondo State following the swearing-in of Mr. Sam Olumekun as a National Commissioner. In line with the Commission’s policy, Mr. Ijalaye is hereby deployed to Ogun State as the new REC. he said.

He equally said that the current REC for Ogun State, Mr. Olusegun Agbaje, has been redeployed to Lagos State.

“Handing and taking over is to be concluded by Monday 28th February 2022,” he said.

Remmy Nweke/DoP

No comments:

Featured post @ITREALMS

NDSF@15: Ojo, Adebayo, Nnamani, Ekuwem, Nwannenna, Odusote join DigitalSENSE Hall of Fame - ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! The Executive Director, Media Rights Agenda, Mr. Edetaen Ojo alongside the chairman,...