" ITREALMS: Botterman to replace Chalaby after ICANN66 – ITREALMS

ob Ad

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Botterman to replace Chalaby after ICANN66 – ITREALMS

The Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) have revealed that Maarten Botterman will replace the incumbent chair of the ICANN Board of Directors, Mr. Cherine Chalaby, reports ITREALMS.

The replacement, 
ITREALMS gathered will take effect immediately after the forthcoming ICANN66, which is an Annual General Meeting of the global non-profit coordinating organization for the Domain Name System (DNS).

Chair, ICANN Board of Directors, Mr. Cherine Chalaby, confirmed this in a blog post stating that the Board has selected Maarten Botterman as the next Chair of the ICANN Board following the process outlined in the Board Governance Committee Practice for Board Engagement in Developing Slate for Board Leadership.

“I am proud to welcome Maarten as my successor, and look forward to supporting him and working with him toward a smooth transition,” he declared.

Chalaby also announced that León Felipe Sánchez Ambia has been selected Vice Chair.

“Many congratulations to León as he takes on this important role,” he said.

Pointing out that they will be seated after the formal election that will take place at the Annual Meeting at ICANN66 in Montréal.

“Our advance planning for the transfer of those responsibilities will support continuity in ICANN's service of its mission,” he assured community.

He explained that as part of this leadership change, current Vice Chair Chris Disspain has stepped down from that role.

In the interim, Chalaby said, he will ask the Board to appoint Maarten to serve as Vice Chair until he becomes ICANN66 when he is expected to graduate into the chair proper.

“I want to thank Chris for his partnership as my Vice Chair over the past two years. His knowledge and skills will remain a great asset to the Board over the next year,” he said.

Further, he explained that the other candidates for Chair were Chris Disspain and Ron da Silva; the other candidate for Vice Chair was Becky Burr.

“Congratulations to Maarten and León. They are exceptional leaders whose fresh perspectives and insights will be of great value as ICANN embarks on the 2021-2025 Strategic Plan,” Chalaby said.

Remmy Nweke/DoP

*JOIN our alert's group | Share stories with us | Advert placement: WhatsApp | SMS: +2348033592762 *Twitter: @ITREALMS *Email: itrealms.dsa@gmail.com*

No comments: