Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Olufuye hands over ITAN to Seriki

The immediate past president, Information Technology (Industry) Association of Nigeria (ITAN), Dr. Jimson Olufuye, has handed over the leadership of the industry hardware sub-group to Mrs. Florence Seriki, the group managing director, Omatek Computers plc.

Olufuye, who is the chief executive officer, Kontemporary Konsulting Limited has concluded his two-term tenure as the president of ITAN, while Mrs. Seriki, the group managing director, Omatek Computer plc, who has been serving as the first vice president in the last dispensation.

The change of guide came at the end of the 2011 Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Information Technology (Industry) Association of Nigeria (ITAN) in Abuja.

Mrs. Seriki’s election heralds the tenure of the 6th President of ITAN, which is in line with the new Constitution approved by consensus at the AGM, last week Thursday, November 24, 2011.

Dr. Olufuye who took over as President in the 2007, served for two terms and led ITAN to international spotlight through various steps which include making ITAN a member and the regional secretariat of the World Information Technology and Services Alliance (WITSA) as well as hosting the IT CEOs Summits in collaboration with NASSCOM, India.

Other newly elected officers of ITAN include Mr. Amos Emmanuel, CEO, Programos Software, as the first Vice President and Mr. Yunusa Yau, the Executive Director, CITAD as the second Vice President.

Also elected at the of the 2011 AGM are Mr. Matthias Ifesieh, the CEO, Sagita Systems Ltd as Treasurer, while council members include Mr. Dele Ajisomo of Mandriva Africa, Mr. Emma Onuegbu of Zinox Technologies; Mr. Tola Sogbesan of Chace Systems Ltd; Mr. Adeniyi Ekine of Obita Crescent Audio Visual Industry; Mr. David Onu of Interra Networks Ltd; Mr. John Nwosu  of Jetlink Nigeria Ltd; Mr. Sagir Mohammed of Intersystems Ltd; Mr. Oamen Okhilua of Yobel Integrated Ltd.

While the statutory members of the Council comprised of Dr. Jimson Olufuye, the immediate past president, Mr. Tayo Adeniyi of Worldwide Computers Ltd and Initiator of ITAN, and other past presidents in line with the newly approved constitution.

ITRealms Online recalls that ITAN was established in 1991 as Microcomputer Vendors Association of Nigeria (MiVAN) following visionary initiative of Mr. Tayo Adeniyi, MD Worldwide Computers Ltd and in 1995, ITAN metamorphosed into Computer Vendors Association of Nigeria (CoVAN) before transforming into its current status in 2000.

In 2002, following industry pressures and advocacy by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, ITAN joined other stakeholders to form what is now the society of IT professionals in Nigeria, the Nigeria Computer Society (NCS).

ITAN’s first President was Mr. Yinka Edu of A-Z Computers Ltd. In 1995, Mr. Davis Mirilla of Falcon Computers Ltd succeeded him. In 1999, Mr. Chris Uwaje of Connect Technologies Ltd followed.

In 2003, the chief executive officer, Beta Computers, Mr. Will Anyaegbunam was elected the President, while on March 29, 2007, Dr Jimson Olufuye emerged ITAN president.

Remmy Nweke
ITREALMS Online ... delivering news for ICT4D


Alex daina said...

The payday advance loaning industry has prepared for here and now advances that furnish speedy money to individuals with terrible credit or no credit by any

Alex daina said...

While payday credits and loans offer sums going from $100-$1,000, car title advances give the customer the alternative to acquire as much as $5,000 to $10,