" ITREALMS: Computer society honours 12 members

ob Ad

Thursday, December 21, 2006

Computer society honours 12 members

Nigeria Computer Society (NCS) has honoured 12 of its members for outstanding performance during the year under review.

They included Zinox Computers, Omatek computers, Computer Warehouse Group (CWG) Condata Systems Limited, Systemspecs Limited, Labyet Polaris Limited, Infographics Limited, Soft Solutions Limited, Shell Corporation, Adamawa and Bayelsa states government, SeedMark, AllTech Limited, AfriBank, and Accenture among others.

NCS president, Dr. Chris Nwannenna, in his address to the occasion, said that the awards were in three categories, namely for organisations that have distinguished themselves internationally,” those that have supported NCS immensely in the year 2006 and those that have paid their dues regularly.”

Nwannenna called on members to ensure regular payment of their annual dues and financial support to NCS, saying it is very important, stressing that NCS needs everybody’s support to complete its ultra-modern office complex whose construction has begun.

Chairman, Publicity committee of NCS, Mr. Chinenye Mba-Uzoukwu said that estimated four firms were recognised for winning international awards, eight others for supporting NCS’s events and activities as well as payment of levies regularly.

NCS is the umbrella body of Nigerian IT professionals globally, consisting of the Nigerian IT Professionals in the Americas (NITPA), Information Technology Association of Nigeria (ITAN), Software Developers Group (SDG), Institute of Software Practitioners of Nigeria (ISPON), National Association of Computer Science Students (NACOSS), and Internet Service Providers Association of Nigeria (ISPAN) among others.

Presided over by the Executive Vice Chairman (EVC), Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), Dr. Ernest Ndukwe, the event was graced by the likes of Director-General, National IT Development Agency (NITDA), Prof. Cleopas Officer Angaye, represented by Director of Standards at the agency, Dr. Emeka Ezekwesili, Dr. Leo Stand Ekeh of Zinox, Managing director of Omatek, Mrs. Florence Seriki, and her counterpart at Systemspecs, Mr. John Obaro among others dignitaries.

While the awards were handed over to respective winners by the first Vice President, NCS and chief executive Labyet Polaris, Chief Anthony Ayodele and Dr. Ndukwe.

ITREALMS Online ... delivering news for ICT4D

No comments: