" ITREALMS: ATCON Presidency: Ekuwem leads till 2010

Wednesday, May 07, 2008

ATCON Presidency: Ekuwem leads till 2010


Having performed in his first term in office, the Executive Vice Chairman, Teledom International Group, Dr. Emmanuel Ekuwem has been elected for the second term to lead the National Executive Council (NEC) of the Association of Telecommunications Companies of Nigeria (ATCON) till2010.

Ekuwem, who before his emergence as ATCON president in late 2006, had served as the President, Nigeria Internet Group among other national assignments.

Others who made the current executive as incumbents included the chief executive of Disc Communications Limited, Chief Adebayo Adebanjo as the first vice president, his counterpart at Geosanna Digital Comm. Limited, Mr. Gerry Ekesiani, the second vice president and chief executive, NERA Microwave Nigeria Limited, Chief Babajide Odekunle who retained his portfolio as the National Secretary.

Additionally, the chief operating officer of Accat Nigeria Limited, Mr. David Roberts emerged the Publicity Secretary, while the chief executive EIL Telecoms Limited, Mrs. Nkoli Moka was nominated as the Financial Secretary as well as the Director, Events Marketing at Intercellular Nigeria Plc, Ms Maureen Egbuna as the Treasurer.

Messrs Tony Nwosu of Global Access Limited, Mac’Danielles Ighedosa of DaniSat Communications Limited, Sunday Gbenjo of Total Telecoms Limited, Chike Ogum of Best Alliance Comms Limited and Chrysantus Okon of TC Mobile Limited, were elected as sub-group coordinators of Auxiliary services providers, enhanced services providers, customer equipment dealers, manufacturer and manufacturers’ representatives and consulting services providers in that other as sub-group coordinators.

However, ATCON is awaiting the nominees from the Association of Licensed Telecommunications Operators of Nigeria (ALTON) and Internet Service Providers Association of Nigeria (ISPAN).

In his second term acceptance speech, Dr. Ekuwem recalled that ATCON is a professional, non-profit, non-political umbrella organisation of telecommunications companies in the country, which was formally inaugurated on December 10, 1993 with a membership profile made up of indigenous and multinational telecommunications firms operating in the country and has since grown to 150-entity membership.

According to him, ATCON has seven sub-groups, while providing services of general information on emerging technologies available in the telecom and Information and Communications Technology (ICT) market, hosting of telecom exhibitions and conference, analysis of economic policies and technical regulations which affect the industry, as well as coordinating trade missions for purpose of promoting partnerships among local and international operators and professional advisory to potential and existing investors in the nation’s telecom industry.

Dr. Ekuwem also outlined the objectives of ATCON, including to bring together under one umbrella, all companies in the field of ICT services for the purposes of achieving meaningful development in the country.

In addition, ATCON, he said, tends to actively promote the organised private sector participation in the expansion of the industry infrastructure-wise by way of encouraging professionalism and evolving adequate training programmes for the personnel engaged in the industry, whereas assisting members to develop programmes in tune with current deregulation policy of the federal government.

He further pledged that ATCON would continue to collaborate with the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) and other government agencies to ensure industrial harmony and fair competition in the provision of services within the telecom sector.

ITREALMS Online ... delivering news for ICT4D

No comments:

Featured post @ITREALMS

NDSF@15: Ojo, Adebayo, Nnamani, Ekuwem, Nwannenna, Odusote join DigitalSENSE Hall of Fame - ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! The Executive Director, Media Rights Agenda, Mr. Edetaen Ojo alongside the chairman,...