" ITREALMS: Yakubu Gowon presides over NITTA-07

Wednesday, October 25, 2006

Yakubu Gowon presides over NITTA-07

Remmy Nweke

FORMER Nigerian head of state and the current national coordinator of Nigeria Prays, General Yakubu Gowon, retired, has been confirmed to preside over the fifth edition of the Nigerian Information Technology and Telecom Awards (NITTA-06).

Confirming this to our correspondent, the chief host and editor-in-chief of IT & Telecom Digest, the organisers, Mr. Mkpe Abang also noted that three distinguished state governors are equally on the line-up for the occasion scheduled to hold at the Muson Centre, Lagos, on November 24.

According to him, governors of Akwa Ibom, Lagos and Ogun States; Obong Victor Attah, Alhaji Bola Ahmed Tinubu and Otunba Gbenga Daniel top the list as nominees for Best ICT Governor of the Year.

A press statement made available to Champion Infotel by Mr. Abang said that the NITTA Board of Trustees made the choice of Gen. Gowon as chairman of the occasion given his statesmanship in the international community as well as his track record as Nigeria ’s head of state to have served the longest.

He recalled that Gen. Gowon was Nigeria ’s head of state from 1966 – 1975 and of late has engaged himself in advancing good governance.

In addition, the organisers said that Nigeria ’s first high commissioner to the United Kingdom, Amb. Matthew T. Mbu, who presided over last year’s edition would be supporting Gen. Gowon at this year’s occasion as the Father of the Day.

The organisers noted that nominations and entries have continued to increase by the day for various categories announced for the awards programme, comprising the Best Telephone Company of the Year (Mobile/Fixed), Best Customer Care Telephone Company of the Year, Best ICT Reporter of the year (Print/Electronic), Best ICT Advert/Commercial of the Year (Print/Electronic), Best Telephone Equipment Distributor/Supplier of the Year and Best Telecom network partner of the Year.

Others are Best Computer Company of the Year, Best ISP of the Year, Best Prepaid Phone Card Company of the Year, Best Indigenous Software Company of the Year, Fastest Selling GSM handset brand of the year, IT/Telecom Personality of the Year, IT Woman of the Year, Best Banking Solution/Application of the year, Best Online Bank of the Year, Banker of the Year, Telecom CEO of the Year and Man of the Year.

Winner of the Best Telephone Company of the Year at the debut edition of NITTA in 2002, Reliance Telecommunications (Reltelwireless) as well as reigning Best ISP of the Year, Direct-On-PC are supporting this year’s NITTA as corporate sponsors. DOPC has won the Best ISP of the Year Award in Nigeria consecutively for the past three years.

ITREALMS Online ... delivering news for ICT4D

No comments:

Featured post @ITREALMS

NDSF@15: Ojo, Adebayo, Nnamani, Ekuwem, Nwannenna, Odusote join DigitalSENSE Hall of Fame - ITREALMS

ITREALMS ... making leadership SENSE with digital news! The Executive Director, Media Rights Agenda, Mr. Edetaen Ojo alongside the chairman,...