Wednesday, November 28, 2007

24 ICT champions honoured @ NITTA-07

The sixth edition of the Nigerian Information Technology and Telecom Awards (NITTA 2007) ended with a total of 24 awards dished out to deserving industry champions.

According to the awards organisers, IT & Telecom Digest, these awards were the highest ever number of awards in the nation’s Information and Communication Technology (ICT) industry, thus making NITTA the sector’s most consistent since 2002 when it was inaugurated.

Speaking at the occasion, chief executive of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), Dr. Ernest Ndukwe applauded the zeal of IT & Telecom Digest magazine, organisers of NITTA, stressing that the awards have become a way of showing appreciation to operators in the industry for a job well done.

The ceremony, presided over by the immediate past Nigeria ’s High Commissioner to the United Kingdom (UK), Dr. Christopher Kolade, was anchored by the duo of Ayo Makinde and Ronke Olufiade, as well graced by who-is-who in the ICT industry, including the chief executives of Nigeria ’s leading telecom operators like Mr. Adebayo Ligali of Celtel Nigeria, Chief Operating Officer of Globacom, Mr. Mohamed Jameel, former Communications Minister and a member of the board of NCC, Chief Olawale Ige, Managing Director of Microsoft Nigeria, Mr. Chinenye Mba-Uzoukwu, Chairman of Zinox Computers, Chief Leo-Stan Ekeh, Deputy Governor of Yobe State, Ibrahim Geidam who stood in for the state Governor, Senator Mamman Bello Ali, Mr. Joost Jetten, Business Development Manager-Southern and West Africa of Sony Ericsson, among others.

The award winners encompassed Starcomms which emerged the Telephone Company of the Year (Wireless), Very Small Aperture Terminal (VSAT) Company of the Year went to NETCOM Africa, while the Internet Service Provider of the Year was won by Direct-On-PC; New Technology Solution Company of the Year prize went to T3 Communications, even as the Satellite Company of the Year was taken by Gilat Satcom.

Also, prize for the Mobile Phone Company of the Year went to Glo Mobile and Telecom Equipment Supplier of the Year was won by ACCAT, even as multiple awards were received by Globacom as the National Operator of the Year and two individual awards by its chief operating officer, Mohamed Jameel and Chairman, Dr. Mike Adenuga, Jnr; as Telecom Personality of the Year and Man of the Year respectively.

Equally outstanding was the performance of Direct On PC, which carted home three prizes as of Internet Service Provider (ISP) of the year, broadband company of the year and WiMAX company of the year.

Relatively, three governors shared the ICT Governor of the year prize namely the Ondo State Governor Dr. Olusegun Agagu, his Akwa Ibom and Yobe states counterparts, Obong Godswill Akpabio and Senator Mamman Bello Ali.

Just as for the second consecutive year, Zinox picked the computer brand of the year award while the sister company, Technology Distributions (TD) won the computer distribution company of the year.

Celtel and MTN took their turns as the customer care company of the year while MTN Foundation won the Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) company of the year with Sony Ericsson clinching for the second year platinum sponsor with its with the Sony Ericsson P1i.

The ICT Reporter of the year award went to Mr. Elvis Eromosele of Financial Standard for the second year running, even as Symbols from the stable of Progenics won again this year the Indigenous Software award alone, while NCC picked the African Telecom Regulator award, Mr. Lanre Ajayi of PiNet Informatics came top as IT Personality of the year prize.

ITREALMS Online ... delivering news for ICT4D

No comments: